“It’s a shame that it’s a shame to be with you.”

“The Body” by Jylda | I’m not sure how to pronounce her name, to be honest, although I assume it’s some mangled form of her given name, Gianna. (Don’t know where her last name, Gehlhar, fits in.) Another one from Berlin, her, and the accompanying press release for her track “The Body” (which dropped last week) invokes Twin Peaks, which I was too young to have seen the first two season of. The video invokes The Big Lebowski, which I was also too young to have caught the first time. Drive? Know what, I should have no excuses for not seeing this film, but I haven’t. What I have is an appreciation of Bryan Fuller’s Hannibal – the television series, yes, with its eerie soundscapes and its gorgeously bloody visuals. (It helps that Jylda reminds me of Caroline Dhavernas, somewhat.) “The Body” is not intense, but it lingers; Jylda’s smoky voice lures you in, but above all its a hazy place and you can’t help but feel traces of paranoia amidst the gravitational pull of her voice. There’s danger, but why not stay? [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

