“I was lightning before the thunder.”

“Thunder” by Imagine Dragons | I’m not really up to date with new music of a particular persuasion these days, so I am writing about this new Imagine Dragons tracks a month behind. I am irritated by this song. Quite irritated. I don’t know why either. Imagine Dragons are a band I never loved or hated, but rather have learned to tolerate, but never further. I never sought out their songs, never was compelled to listen to them (despite what I wrote here) and have learned to live without them. But then I hear this song, which seems well-intentioned, but strikes me as a group of guys taking the piss off everyone with a riff that is, well, quite irritating. “Thunder!” like you’re being mocked. Luckily, I can move on. [NB]

Got something?

