“I keep yearning for the flame.”

“Burning Up” by Haneri | Catching up on the stuff on my inbox again, and this one’s from a Singaporean artist named Haneri. I probably recognize her. No, wait, I do recognize her. Radio geekery days. Haneri is Daphne Khoo, former Singapore Idol contestant, former Power 98 DJ, and subject of several conversations I’ve had with people in Singapore in the past few years. And now she’s on my inbox, and now I’m writing about her new song, and a new name, even. “Burning Up”, which dropped just last Friday – I am late to this, I admit, and I hate myself for doing so – is a glittering thing, a bit Ellie Goulding-esque but with a more home-y feel, with its 80s-style synths swallowing you gently. Quite interesting to see this push its way through a really interesting scene in Singapore these days, but we will keep watch. [NB] (Have things I should hear? Drop me a line here.)

Got something?

