“…hinding-hindi makasabay sa hangin ng aking buhay.”

“Hari Ng Sablay” by Sugarfree | We’ve been doing this feature for three years now, and only now are we getting around to Sugarfree. I have waited for so long to be able to add them to the list. (Just in time, turns out, for yesterday their entire discography went live on Spotify.) I have also agonized for so long about what song to put in. Sure, “Hari Ng Sablay” is the obvious choice, a track whose conceit alone brought it to the zeitgeist. But I have been into the band from the moment I first heard “Telepono” in a car in Alabang. I sang my heart out to “Mariposa”, cried my heart (figuratively) out to “Wag Ka Nang Umiyak”… I have seen them a few times – they were all school gigs; Ebe Dancel would always slot “DLSU” in the lyrics for “Dear Kuya” – and while I wasn’t there at their farewell gig, my heart broke nonetheless. I’ve always known this deserves a theme week. But Sugarfree – yes, a band whose musical ambitions belied their frills-free exterior; whose crunchy musicality, keen sentimentality and occasional winks to the listener endeared them to millions. I can’t not include them. [NB]

Got something?

